The Law Court

The Latin term whence the Italian word "Tribunale" comes originally indicated the tribune from which a judge would pass judgement.

In the Italian legal system, the law court identifies the jurisdictional entity, which can be composed by one or more judges. This means that it can be made up of a sole judge or of a panel of three judges. In the civil field, the law court has jurisdiction over all lawsuits in which the Justice of the Peace has no jurisdiction. Moreover, the Law Court always has jurisdiction over matters related to the status and capacity of an individual.

Law Courts also have jurisdiction in cases of fraud, bankruptcy and related lawsuits, in addition to lawsuits of undeterminable value. It is also the Court of Appeal for rulings of the Justice of the Peace.

In the field of criminal law, law courts which have jurisdiction in the first instance are competent for crimes which do not fall under the jurisdiction of the Justice of the Peace or the Court of Assizes.

The main function of Law Courts is to ensure fair redress and in a reasonable time depending on citizens' needs to see their controversies solved – whether large or small - in order to ensure the ”reasonable duration of the process,” which is the overriding objective to pursue, as well as a fundamental value of our Constitution. Article 6 of the European Convention on Human Rights 1950, which came into force in Italy only in 1955, ratifies “In the determination of his civil rights and obligations or of any criminal charge against him, everyone is entitled to a fair and public hearing within a reasonable time by an independent and impartial tribunal established by law right of each person to a fair ad public hearing within a reasonable time, in front of an independent and impartial law-court established by law".

This brief statement expresses the fundamental principles of law elaborated by the European legal systems and is also enshrined in article 111 of the Italian Constitution, which, inter alia, reaffirms that "the law ensures reasonable duration” of the process in equal conditions between the parties and the impartiality of judges.

Territory and Jurisdiction

The Court of Savona is located at floors 2 to 5 of the building situated in Via XX Settembre 1.

At the second floor, there are the courtrooms; hearings take place according to the set calendar.

At the third floor, there are the chambers and the offices of the court clerks of the civil and accounting sector and the chamber of the President of the Civil Law Section.
At the fourth floor, there are the chamber of the President of the Court, the chamber of the Administrative Manager of the Court and the secretary’s office of the President and Administrative Manager.

At the fifth floor, there are the chambers and the offices of the court clerks of the Criminal Law Section and the Chamber of the President of the Criminal Law Section.

The judges' chambers are situated on the related floors.

The Court’s territorial jurisdiction covers the following 69 municipalities:

Il servizio delle traduzioni è stato effettuato anche grazie alla collaborazione degli studenti del Liceo classico-linguistico Chiabrera di Savona

Tribunale El Tribunal Das Gericht Sad Tribunalul O Tribunal Fayuàn